The “Unofficial” All-Time New Orleans Saints Sack Leaders List

 The NFL didn’t start recording sacks as an official metric until 1982, so these records must be taken with that in mind. Pro Football Reference has made an effort to compile these records for defensive players from those early season and I’ve gathered up the results for our Saints.
 Overall the list doesn’t differ much from the Saint’s official list as far as the top players are concerned. Rickey Jackson is still #1. But the un-official list does add to Rickey’s – as well as Frank Warren and Jim Wilks sack totals.
 One player that does make his way onto the Top 10 list is long-time defensive tackle Derland Moore.  Moore, a 13-year veteran with the Saints, played the majority of his time in the 1970s. He comes in at #10 with an unofficial total of 48 sacks.

Saints Sack Leaders (pre-1982 results added)

Saints All-Time Sacks
1Rickey Jackson♣1981-1993123.0195LOLB1
2Cameron Jordan2011-2022115.5192LE 
3Wayne Martin1989-199982.5171LDE1
4Pat Swilling1986-199276.5107ROLB 
5Will Smith2004-201267.5139RDE1
6Frank Warren1981-199456.0189DE1
7Joe Johnson1994-200150.5106RDE 
8La’Roi Glover1997-200150.079RDT 
9Jim Wilks1981-199349.0183RDE 
10Derland Moore1973-198548.0170RDT 
11Charles Grant2002-200947.0118LDE1
12Darren Howard2000-200544.581LDE 
13Renaldo Turnbull1990-199644.5104RDE 
14Elois Grooms1975-198142.599LDE1
15Bruce Clark1982-198839.5102LDE1
16Joe Owens1971-197538.070RDE1
17Bob Pollard1971-197737.092LDE 
18Elex Price1973-198032.0103LDT 
19Junior Galette2010-201431.564DE2
20Doug Atkins♣1967-196930.039RDE 
21Jumpy Geathers1984-198926.080DE 
22Willie Whitehead1999-200624.5105DE 
23Mark Fields1995-200023.093RLB 
24David Onyemata2016-202223.0106DT 
25Whitney Paul1982-198523.055ROLB 
26Demario Davis2018-202222.581OLB 
27Marcus Davenport2018-202221.563DE 
28Trey Hendrickson2017-202020.045DE 
29Richard Neal1969-197820.056RDE 
30Keith Mitchell1997-200118.579LLB 
31Sheldon Rankins2016-202017.563DT 
32Roman Harper2006-201617.0124SS 
33Don Reese1978-198017.042DT 
34Mike Tilleman1967-197017.056LDT 
35Dave Rowe1967-197016.556RDT 
36Carl Granderson2019-202214.554DE 
37Charlie Clemons2001-200214.032MLB 
38Billy Newsome1973-197414.027LDE 
39Tony Elliott1982-198813.084NT 
40Brady Smith1996-199913.062RDE 
41Sedrick Ellis2008-201212.570RDT 
42Vaughan Johnson1986-199312.0120RILB 
43Brian Young2004-200812.064DT 
44Reggie Lewis1982-198411.534DE 
45Darion Conner1994-199410.516ROLB 
46Sam Mills1986-199410.5133LILB 
47Jared Tomich1997-200010.055DE 
48Jim Kovach1979-19859.583RILB 
49Norman Hand2000-20029.044LDT 
50Grady Jackson2002-20039.022LDT 
51Mike Fultz1977-19808.549DT 
52Dave Long1969-19728.554RDE 
  • ♣ – Hall of Fame Member
  • “Bold Text” – Still Active
Frank Warren
Pat Swilling sacks Dan Marino in 1992
Pat Swilling
Derland Moore 1982 New Orleans Saints Topps Football Card #409
Derland Moore

I've been following the Saints since a kid in the 70s watching the likes of Archie Manning and Tommy Myers.
We may not have as grandiose a history as some NFL teams, but there are scores of memories the New Orleans Saints have given to their fans and I have done my best to record them here at New Orleans Saints History.

Articles: 465

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *